Titanic-themed travel and celebrating Irish spirit

As we approach another St. Patrick’s Day, I decided to begin my March posts by focusing on Ireland themes.  A while back, I was watching the History Channel program, “Lost Worlds” and the particular episode was called “Building the Titanic.”  Because of my interest in the famous ship, there are a lot of related sites I’d like to see in Ireland.  However, the sites featured in the episode went beyond Ireland and into England, to show beautiful details inside the White Swan Hotel of Alnwick in Northumberland.

I’ll save the rest for when others catch this “Lost Worlds” episode, to find out the hotel’s relevance to Titanic.  Anyway, I would love to stay at the White Swan Hotel on a trip to England someday, which I hope to combine with travels to Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

I recently finished reading a great eBook called “Extraordinary Dreams of an Ireland Traveler,” by Rosemary Mamie Adkins.  Even though I’ve been wanting to visit Ireland for a long time myself, the advice Adkins provided in her eBook was so helpful and only inspired me further toward my own Irish adventure.  I’m making use of Pinterest to gather ideas in one place for places to see in Ireland whenever I finally explore the country as a first-time visitor.  Check out this article from Irish Fireside, including a wealth of helpful info on planning a trip to Ireland.  I want to go to Northern Ireland as well to see many of its sites, including the Titanic Belfast museum.

In my local area, there are a few Titanic exhibits to see as the anniversary of the sinking continues to be marked. Check out the Titanic exhibit info for these museums:

By the way, what are your thoughts on the news about building the Titanic II?  This article from Conde Nast Traveller discusses the ship’s sail date.

On a food and culture note of all local things Irish, I went out for dinner at Sligo’s in Media, Pa.  It was the first time I ate there and just loved everything about it, from the details I saw upon entering the pub to the Shepherd’s Pie I ordered.  I’ll definitely be going back again sometime!

Check out some great Pinterest ideas for celebrating St. Patrick’s Day and my Irish spirit photo set on Flickr.

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional college graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. While in college, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife, literature and film history and hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. I'm also interested in event photography. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Dining, England, Flickr, Food, History, Ireland, Maritime, Museums, Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, Pinterest, Ships, Travel, UK and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

