>Next Stop – Philly

>

I have been to Philadelphia, the closest big city to me, a number of times and it is amazing how much I still haven’t seen. So, while in the City of Brotherly Love next weekend, I hope to visit multiple sites.


The photo below is one I took during my last visit into the city, which was fairly short; just to see the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall.


Other times, I have only gone to Penn’s Landing for fireworks and stadiums for concerts. It has been years since I visited the zoo and major museums of the city. As for what I would like to see / do in and around Philadelphia for the first time, the list includes:

  • The Betsy Ross House
  • Old City Tavern
  • The Mutter Museum
  • National Constitution Center
  • Elfreth’s Alley
  • Fairmount Park
  • Boathouse Row
  • Laurel Hill Cemetery
  • Museum of Art
  • Dining on the Moshulu
  • Cruise on the Spirit of Philadelphia
  • Carriage ride
  • Ride the Ducks
  • Double decker bus tour
With all of those things to see and do, I probably couldn’t get it all done in one day’s time and I’ll only be in the city for one day.

I’m actually not much of a big city person, although I do like day trips into the city. One other trip into the city, by train, was for a job interview years back. It was the first time I went into Philadelphia by myself and I was so nervous, but only half of that was because of the interview. I didn’t get that particular job in the end, but everything else went well. One thing is for sure though; it is somewhat hard to believe that I ventured into the city by myself back then. Only the job prospect made me do so, but it was a moment of adventure for me when I think about it.

That adventure is still in me, only for the sake of travel itself…although fulfilling travel goals has been difficult what with the economic situation these days. I think about all of the places I want to visit, local or not. I hope I get to see as many of them as possible because of the inspiration that these places give to people.

Being in a big city for just a day is exciting to me, with so much going on and so much to check out; definitely a source of inspiration. So I’m looking forward to next weekend and how many sites I’ll cover while in Philadelphia this time around.

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Historic, Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, Tours, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

