Next Time in NYC

As a way to wrap up my NYC posts for now, I decided to put together a list of some places to see on my next or any visit there.  This is a very short list of what all I want to see in NYC, including some choices for where to eat.  So, starting with what to see, here it is.

What To See:

Statue of Liberty

Back in high school was when I first saw the Statue of Liberty, and I remember how I couldn’t wait for the day of the year-end trip to see this famous landmark.  I always wanted to see the Statue of Liberty and it was great to finally have that opportunity.  I still hope to be there one of these years for the 4th of July fireworks.  The photo above is one that I took during my high school trip, and next time, I want to take some better photos.

Intrepid

The Intrepid is on my NYC must-see list for a few reasons.  First, the Navy history.  One of my grandfathers was in the Navy, serving during WWII at Pearl Harbor.  So the family military history brings about my interest in these vessels.  Secondly, I want to see the test space shuttle, the Enterprise, as an addition to the aircraft carrier museum.  Third, the Intrepid was featured in one of my favorite films, National Treasure.  Visiting film locations is something that I’m very interested in as well.

Titanic Memorial Light

A visit to this spot is due to my longtime interest in the history of Titanic.  More info can be found at Lighthouse Friends.  It is one of many places related to Titanic that I would like to see.

National Lighthouse Museum

Lighthouses are a huge subject of interest coming from my mom’s side of the family.  On that side, there is family history in the Outer Banks, well-known for its five lighthouses.  There may have even been a lighthouse keeper at some point in our family history, which we’re trying to confirm.  But with or without that connection to lighthouses, I love them as guardians to seafarers and for their mysteries and coastal scenery.  A national museum dedicated to lighthouses is just my kind of place to visit.

St. Patrick’s Cathedral

The stunning architectural detail I’ve only seen in photos is what draws me to see St. Patrick’s with my own eyes.  Like lighthouses, I want to see many cathedrals all over.

Poets House

I want to visit the Poets House because of my interest in literary works.

The Actors Studio

Mentioned in my last post, its list of legendary actors is the reason I want to stop and snap of a photo here.  I’m building a Flickr photo album of all things movies, so a photo of the Actors Studio would be a nice addition.

Greenwich Village

It’s a part of the city that I’ve never been to, but would love to experience the famous artsy scene.  I also read about a Dylan Thomas walking tour of Greenwich Village.  With my interest in literary works, it would be interesting to check out the places relevant to the famous Welsh writer.

Empire State Building

Having only seen this iconic building from a distance, I’ll have to view the city from its observatory sometime.  The Empire State Building is one of my favorite places featured in numerous movies.

Madame Tussauds

NYC’s location of the famous celeb wax museum is the closest one to me.  It makes for the perfect start to seeing likenesses of many of my favorite celebs.  I only saw the museum’s sign in passing during my visit to NYC back in March.

Discovery Times Square

There have been a number of exhibits held at Discovery Times Square in recent years that I wanted to see.  As they cover subjects such as history and movies, this museum is right up my alley.

Three other educational places I would love to visit are the Hayden Planetarium, MOMA and Guggenheim.

New York Public Library

A place to learn, the NYPL is also an iconic place to me…an all-around must-see in NYC.  Its exterior details are only the beginning of experiencing a great landmark.

Central Park

There is so much of this famous park that I’ve yet to see.  It makes me wish I lived in NYC so that I could visit the park regularly.

Where To Eat:

Planet Hollywood

During a different trip to NYC while back in high school, I think Planet Hollywood was where a small group of classmates and I were going to stop at.  We ended up eating in between going in circles around the ice-skating rink at Wollman’s.  That was a great time as well.  But since I didn’t get to Planet Hollywood yet, it’s one of my choices for dining in NYC sometime.

The Stage Deli

I enjoyed my stop at the Stage Deli for dinner back in March, and I’m hoping to bring a friend next time I have the chance to go.  Just as I do, I know my friend will love the food and the celebrity history associated with the deli.

Carnegie Deli

The photo I have of this famous deli was actually taken in another state altogether.  I only caught a glimpse of the front of the shirt, which said “Carnegie Deli” on it.  Seeing it reminded me of my recent NYC visit, and gave me another place to try out next time.

Playwright Celtic Pub

I saw this pub during my March visit to NYC and managed to quickly capture the above photo in passing.  Going by the atmosphere shown on its website, I know I’ll enjoy dining at the Playwright!

Serendipity 3

This ice cream palace is one of many places I first found out about via the Travel Channel, and I have been wanting to go there ever since.  From someone outside of NYC, thank you, Travel Channel, for featuring Serendipity 3!  This will be an indulgent way to top off a tour of NYC, and it will be very much enjoyed!

So there it is.  Just a few of the places I want to check out either the next time or any other time I’m in NYC.  I hope to follow up this posted list with stories of my visits to these places.

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Film Locations, New York, New York City, Photography, Theatre, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

