My bucket list of travel, photography and more

Many people have what they consider to be their own “bucket list” of things they want to do in life.  Here are the items that make up my “bucket list”, mostly centered around travel and photography.  It is a slightly altered version of a list I posted a while back in a note on Facebook.  However, these are the things I would most love to do sometime…a definitive list, even if I don’t check off all of them.

  1. Go on a boat tour of Chesapeake lighthouses.
  2. Turn photography into my official small business.
  3. Visit New England in Autumn.
  4. Take photos of people surfing and snowboarding.
  5. See the west coast.
  6. Learn about infrared & HDR photography.
  7. Take a grand tour of Europe…Ireland, UK, Germany, France, Italy, Greece, Spain, Romania.
  8. In Scotland, tour ancestral sites.
  9. Stay overnight in a medieval castle.
  10. Visit Australia and New Zealand…in one big trip.
  11. Own a historic house.
  12. Take a road trip to Sleepy Hollow, N.Y.
  13. Make $ with travel writing.
  14. Learn graphic design & help a cause with it.
  15. Own a horse or two.
  16. Go storm-chasing.
  17. See sharks & whales from boat tours.
  18. Go to Hawaii for a helicopter tour of the volcanoes.
  19. See Machu Picchu, Easter Island, other ancient & mysterious sites.
  20. Go to grad school.
  21. Learn some Gaelic and Old Welsh.
  22. See the ball drop on New Years in Times Square.
  23. See the fireworks at Staten Island.
  24. Go to Salem, Mass. on Halloween.
  25. Ghost hunt in Gettysburg on Halloween.
  26. Get involved in historical re-enactments.
  27. Stay at a variety of historic inns.
  28. See the lighthouses of Michigan.
  29. Enroll in the Travel Channel Academy.
  30. Get a job in web editing at a magazine.
  31. Write a book.
  32. Study and / or intern abroad.
  33. See America’s national parks.
  34. Cruise Alaska, Hawaii, Caribbean or Mediterranean.
  35. Go horse-back riding in the Outer Banks.
  36. Stay overnight at a lighthouse.
  37. Visit haunted sites from Ghost Hunters, GHI & Ghost Adventures.
  38. Visit Charleston, Savannah, St. Augustine, New Orleans.
  39. Read more great literary works.
  40. Write news articles on the environment.
  41. Take pro photos at rock concerts.
  42. See the Winter Olympics in person.
  43. See all the United States…I’ve only been in 8 including my home state.
  44. Visit observatories (Kitt Peak in Arizona, Griffith in California, Mauna Kea in Hawaii).
  45. Take beginner sailing lessons offered somewhere around the Mid-Atlantic region.
  46. Teach photography by leading photo trips.
  47. Publish a photography book.
  48. Go to the James Dean Festival in Indiana.
  49. See famous movie-related sites in California.
  50. Visit literary & movie sites…Jane Austen, Harry Potter, DaVinci Code, National Treasure, etc.  (Check out more of my cinematic bucket list).

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Historic, History, International, Nature, Photography, Scenic, Travel, USA, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My bucket list of travel, photography and more

  1. Pingback: My cinematic bucket list « Film Inspired

  2. ailsapm says:

    Great list, I’ve done a couple of them – just blogged about yesterday’s adventure in Sleepy Hollow if you want to take a peek:
    http://wheresmybackpack.wordpress.com/2011/10/01/sleepy-hollow-by-mistake/

Leave a Reply

