Blogging on the environment

I’m starting a new blog, while keeping what I already have here between my travel and film blogs.  The new one will be focused on the environment, and as it is part of a media convergence class, it needs to be separate.  Each person in class had to focus on a particular issue in today’s society, including a call-to-action section.  That’s the main reason, besides being an assignment for class, that a separate blog is required.

Of course, the environment is a wide-ranging topic, so my particular focus in that area will be about the Chesapeake Bay.  In one aspect, my Chesapeake Bay environmental blog ties in with travel and tourism because it’s a great place to visit in the mid-atlantic region.  So, once I have my environmental blog completed, I’ll link to that from my travel blog.

The idea to focus on this topic came from a project in an environmental communications class.  Each of us had to type up a proposal of a campaign that would address an issue in nature.  My topic was the Chesapeake Bay for that as well.  The media convergence class I’m in now takes it further with a combination of the different skills applied: blogging, photography, video, audio, an infographic.  We have a choice of whatever combo we would like to use.

So far, I have some of the content elements.  I’m going with photos in a slideshow set to music and an infographic to tell the story.  Until I get some more photos, I’m getting the research together and creating the URL for the new blog.

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Media, Nature, Scenic, Travel, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

