Annapolis: Highlights from a one-day trip

Another trip from last summer was to Annapolis, and it was my first visit to the historic maritime town.  There was no set plan as far as what to see and do on that June 3 excursion.

The streets leading to the waterfront were somewhat narrow (but I was in a large vehicle) and lined with many charming inns and historic buildings.  A round-about encircles the state house and various streets shoot off or lead up to it.  Taking a street to leave the round-about, many shops and restaurants came into view, followed by the waterfront and a 2-hour parking area.

Once out of the car, the first stop was the visitor center where a rack of bicycle rentals and signs advertising tours via carriage rides stood.  With the newly-gained information from that point, window-shopping up the street gave way to deciding on where to eat.  The historic Middleton Tavern was the dining establishment of choice, with options to eat outdoors or inside.  The outside dining was all filled up at the moment, so inside dining it was.  An old-time image of the tavern overlooked the particular table that the waitress led the way to.

Both the food and service were great; I’d definitely go back to the Middleton Tavern again, maybe to dine outside next time.  According to the Middletown Tavern’s website, there is mention of ghosts that are said to haunt it.  That reminds me.  Next time in Annapolis, I’d like to go on a ghost tour as tales of hauntings throughout historic towns always intrigue me.  With hunger satisfied, it was on to some maritime-themed souvenir shopping.  Before long, it was time to move the car to another parking area, this time to a garage uphill from the Historic Annapolis Museum.

After a walk back to the museum, it turned out I was just in time for the next trolley tour of the area. So I bought a ticket there and hopped on the Discover Annapolis trolley, which wound its way around town and headed up to the WWII Memorial and Scenic Outlook.  There was a lot of interesting pieces of history to learn from the tour guide as he drove the trolley.

I took a lot of my photos during the trolley tour, along with others I took throughout the day.  You can check them out in my Flickr set of Annapolis photos, as well as my favorite ones in a slideshow on YouTube. For photos I took elsewhere in Maryland, take a look here.  Most of them are from Annapolis, but this is where I’ll be adding photos from anywhere I go throughout the state of Maryland.

As someone who loves maritime and historic locations, eastern Maryland is one of my favorite destinations to visit.  I’ve been to Baltimore a few times, but there are still various sites that I want to go to or restaurants and cafes to check out.  For example, there is the Edgar Allan Poe House and Museum, and a diner called Lost in the 50s.  Of course, I never tire of Baltimore’s Inner Harbor and its own sites.

Then there is the town of Havre de Grace, where my grandmother on my father’s side was born.  I’ve been there before, but never really to any extent have I looked around the downtown area.  So I’d like to check out some shops, the lighthouse and do some photography.

I’ve also been wanting to visit Port Deposit ever since I heard of an old, abandoned site called the Old Tome School.  If possible, I’d like to take some photos of it since I am often taking photos of old buildings for their architectural details of days long gone.  However, I might need to find someone to get permission to visit the site and take photos in this case; I’m not sure.

The natural side of Maryland is something else I love, which is why I put together a separate WordPress page about the Chesapeake Bay’s environment.  I included links on the topic, along with info on ways to help out.  Check it out here.

While on the subject of the bay, I would love to go on a lighthouse tour via boat sometime.  In fact, that activity is on my travel and photography bucket list from a previous post.

So for anyone who hasn’t been to Maryland and loves maritime, historic and natural places, you’re in for many treats!

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Dining, Historic, History, Maritime, Maryland, Nature, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

