Dining out for some Texas flavor

As a way of expanding the topics I write about and photograph on what I call my photo journey, I decided that I’m going to cover food as well.  One of my photography habits has become taking photos of delicious menu items brought to the table at various restaurants I go to.  Along with what I write about in the way of tourist sites I visit, why not round out writing about travel by including the dining side of it in more detail.  Not only that, but food photography in general – something new I try at home or at a family get-together.  I guess in that sense, photography and blogging has brought out the foodie in me.  This idea also combines my decision to try being a semi-vegetarian, one of my New Years resolutions.  So it’s a good time to add the topic of food and dining to my travel experiences.

To begin writing about and photographing the dining that goes with travel, the first place is Texas Roadhouse.  This is based on a nearby location, yet makes me really want to visit Texas.  That’s one of many states I haven’t yet traveled to.  I ate at the same Texas Roadhouse restaurant once before within the past few weeks.  At one point, the Brooks & Dunn hit song, “Boot Scootin’ Boogie” was playing and some of the waitresses began dancing to it.

Walking into the restaurant, you’re greeted with the sights of a jukebox, a Texas-shaped wall plaque with a state license pattern.  Further in, there are framed caricatures of country western singers on an overhanging section of the wall.  The other side has caricatures of NASCAR racers.  One side interior wall has a scene of nearby Brandywine Battlefield, while the opposite wall has a painting of a Native American Indian.  Many other outdoorsy and Texan-themed decor could be seen around the restaurant to add to the atmosphere of the state’s culture.

Now for the food.  While you decide on what to order, you get warm rolls to add a great-tasting spread on.  You can also munch on peanuts in a metal tin bucket; a second bucket is provided to toss the shells in.  There are huge barrels of more peanuts to steadily refill the crowds.  Appetizers were skipped this time and drinks were served, including my order for some coffee.  I usually prefer cappuccino when it comes to coffee-related options.  However, the coffee at Texas Roadhouse was really good and it was just what I needed to warm up with after coming inside from the chilly evening air.

As far as the main course options go, there are a lot of great menu items to choose from.  If you don’t eat red meat (or are trying to cut it out as I recently started), try the delicious grilled salmon and two side dishes.  My choices were the baked potato and a bowl of fresh vegetables (broccoli and carrots).  So that’s where my semi-vegetarian pursuits come into play.  Of course, the grilled salmon is not the only option for vegetarians.  And only time will tell if I go further toward the vegan level, dining in or out.  However, it turns out not to be as difficult as I thought even when dining out.

To follow up dinner, dessert this time around was a strawberry cheesecake ordered to go.  This is what it looked like after I added the toppings later on at home.

Overall, the service was excellent; you could tell that the waiters and waitresses really enjoy working there.  I might only be able to judge that based on two times dining at Texas Roadhouse.  However, just from overall restaurant experiences, it doesn’t take too many times eating at a particular dining establishment to get a feel for the service.  From my first time at Texas Roadhouse, I can only say that the overall experience was positive from the atmosphere to the service and to the food.  My second experience there earlier this week with family was no different.

I’ll definitely go back again, next time ordering one of the very appealing salads that some of my family members had.  That reminds me.  One family member had a sweet potato topped with something I never saw before on a hot food item.  However, you’ll have to go there and find out what that is if you haven’t been there before or haven’t tried their sweet potato.  I think that will be part of my main course next time, following the salad.

What I’m really looking forward to is trying different restaurants in parts of the country that I haven’t been to yet, blogging about them as I do for the overall traveling.  That also goes for different countries since I haven’t been outside the U.S. yet.

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Dining, Food, Photography, Texas, Travel, Vegetarian, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

