Pinterest: Discovering the world while pinning

I don’t know a lot about specific sites in Norway.  However, just as the website Pinterest has been educational in the sharing of clever ideas among pinners, it has also given me info on the northern European country.  For example, Pinterest is the first website from which I have ever seen a photo or heard of a site called the Kjerag Bolt.  I found out its name from some photos on Flickr, in which people are standing on the enormous wedged boulder.  Another photo of the site shows a waterfall in the background.  Stunning views are witnessed by those who dare to step out onto the boulder, there’s no doubt about it.  However, I wouldn’t do it tether-free; actually not at all, considering the height.  I’d be happy with equally stunning views seen from the vantage point of photographers looking out toward the boulder and beyond.

I once went rock-climbing on a high school outdoor adventure trip to take on a nearly 90 degree rock wall around 50 feet tall.  Going into it, I felt that rock-climbing wouldn’t necessarily become a new interest for me to pursue.  However, I signed up in the spirit of trying something that for me, was new and out of the norm.  I would say that’s why people step foot out onto that boulder; to be adventurous, take in the view while doing something that not many people can say they’ve done.  Even though I wasn’t interested in rock-climbing again, I’m glad that I tried it that one time years back.  It was one of, if not the most, adventurous experiences I’ve had while out and about in nature.  However, my sense of outdoor adventure to try something new or that not many have done ends on a level way below attempting a Kjerag Bolt walk-on.

There are a few outdoor adventurists I’ve heard about who I admire for their love of nature.  The same goes for those in daring sports (surfers, snowboarders) as professionals, for their abilities.

Anyway, I just wanted to blog about this; the first image I saw of the site in Norway was jaw-dropping, as so much in nature is.  What’s the most adventurous travel experience you’ve had?

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Adventures, Europe, Nature, Norway, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

