Sir Simon Marsden: A favorite photographer

One of my favorite photographers, Sir Simon Marsden, passed away earlier this year.  I never really heard a lot about him here in the states so I’m just now finding out about his passing.  According to the Telegraph, Marsden traveled a great deal through countries across the pond in Europe and died toward the end of January.  I first came across his photography a few years back because of my own interest in that form of art, as well as a love for castles throughout the British Isles.  Some photography books I have of Marsden’s feature a number of old ruins there; these are places that I’d love to see one day for myself.  I would especially love to see the sites of Ireland featured in the book pictured below.

Marsden’s work inspired an interest in me to learn about black and white infrared photography.  I love the ethereal look of that style of photography, which I’ve since seen in some wedding photography how-to books after looking further into it.  Whether or not I apply learning infrared photography to weddings remains to be seen.  However, I know that I want to apply it to landscape and architecture photography.

If you love photography, particularly infrared and haunting old ruins like those found throughout the British Isles, you should check out Marsden’s books.  Other books I have of his feature photos of sites elsewhere throughout Europe as well.

R.I.P. Sir Simon Marsden

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in British Isles, Europe, Ireland, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

