East Coast Travel: A Springsteen concert in Philly

Dinner at the Wells Fargo Center’s Cadillac Grille was the start of another concert outing, this time to see Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band.  The food and service was top-notch, with gourmet choices and Springsteen-themed drinks celebrating his Wednesday, March 28 and 29 Philly tour dates.  The opportunity to eat at the Cadillac Grille came as part of a package deal with club seats for the show.  From where I sat, there was a window view right out to the back of the stage and all around the arena.  When the soundcheck began, a big white shade came down over the opposite side of the window to shield customers from watching the band practice.  Once the soundcheck was over, the shade rose up and the view of the arena now included concert-goers filing into the floor section and various elevated seating.

The club seats faced the right side of the stage and since Springsteen went all around the stage, it was a pretty good view.  The set list was an excellent mix of classic hits to new songs from Springsteen’s latest album, “Wrecking Ball.”  The crowd cheered wildly in honor of the late, awesome sax player Clarence Clemons as the band paid him tribute.  Springsteen also got his fans going with a lot of cool interaction, from a crowdsurf over the floor audience, to bringing a girl up on stage to dance with him as he sang “Dancing in the Dark.”  I wish I had been able to get photos of those moments, but here is the best one I managed to take before my phone’s battery ran too low.

I can’t wait to see Bruce Springsteen and the E & Street Band again; they put on the best shows!

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Dining, Philadelphia, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

