A ride through Philly, a love for big cities

Following the main line from Radnor into Philly, I rode along on the way to take a friend back to her house.  We usually take I-95 into the city, but Lancaster Avenue was the most direct route coming from Radnor.  This route eventually took us to Market Street and then up to and around the impressive City Hall building.

Philly is the closest major city to where I live, yet there are a lot of spots around the city that I haven’t seen yet.  That included City Hall, up until that mid-April day.  I managed to get a few photos from my passenger-side vantage point before we veered off to the right.

We were then on the Avenue of the Arts, where the first thing that caught my attention was a building with columns detailing its entrance.  It was the Ritz-Carlton, which I wouldn’t mind staying at if I had the opportunity.  I’d certainly love to spend longer than a day trip in and around Philly to take in the arts and an architectural tour.

Further up, we passed the Wilma Theater to our left and straight through the Spruce Street intersection, on the right was the Kimmel Center.  After more turns and dropping my friend off, St. Peter’s Church and its cemetery came into view.  I believe this is one of the film locations for “National Treasure” (2004).  According to its listings of film locations on IMDB, specific Philadelphia sites aren’t stated, only the city itself.  However, the Friends of Old Pine Street website has info on the scenes filmed there.  As a film buff, I’m interested in visiting film locations and am hoping to take this movie sites tour sometime.

To get back to I-95 south, it took some circling around and passing some shops and cafes nearby or a part of South Street.  Among those I noticed was the literary-themed The Artful Dodger Pub and Restaurant, as well as Paddy Whacks Irish Sports Bar.  I don’t go to pubs and bars, although I’d like to try some Irish food somewhere locally, if not whenever I get to visit Ireland.  I’ll have to re-visit the South Street area sometime; it seems like an interesting place for photography.  I have a lot of photos from Penn’s Landing, taken last summer, and more Philly photos on Flickr.

Once on the highway, I was hoping to catch a glimpse of the S.S. United States again.  I took this photo of it last summer, but I’m not sure if I can go to where it’s docked to take some close-up photos.  After taking the photo, I found out about some of the ship’s history and preservation efforts.  I’m wishing all the best for those efforts because I love historic sites and classic ships.

Although it was just a quick drive through the city, it’s exciting to me and I’m inspired to go into the city more often.  This definitely comes off of my trips to New York City in the past year.  I’ve learned so much more about that city and about things to do there, stores, diners and events as a result.  There are so many things that I wish to be up there to see.  The same goes for Philadelphia and even though it’s the closest major city to me, it’s still a rare occasion and all the more exciting to visit.  With so much to see, whether Philly or New York City, it makes me want to live in one of those urban settings.  I want to be surrounded by their cultural institutions and events and their historic sites, check out their cafes and bookstores.

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Architecture, Dining, Film Locations, Historic, History, Movies, New York City, Philadelphia, Photography, Preservation, Tours, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

