Celebrating Shakespeare

One of my classes this spring was a practicum for the campus literary magazine, Woodcrest.  A few other students and I were assigned to plan a party to celebrate William Shakespeare’s birthday.  In the weeks leading up to our party in honor of the bard, we decided on various tasks to focus on.  One of us created a Facebook group and event page so that we could help spread the word on social media.  I worked on decorations for the party and two others helped with more aspects of the planning.  For the decorations, I found some inspiration from both Google image searches on all things Shakespeare.  Pinterest was also a source of Shakespearean party ideas; it’s great for gathering up all your ideas for event planning and putting them together into one pin board.

I never actually put together decorations for an event before.  With my combo of interests in photography and social media, I figured, why not document the process?  A few photos I took along the way are on my Flickr page, from sorting out all the materials to displaying the finished decorations.  I’ve seen some people document something they’re working on and sharing each step on their websites or blogs.  In relation to Shakespeare, one such example I’ve seen of that is period costume recreations.  I have wanted to try that myself, recreating certain dresses from my favorite historical time periods or those elaborate costume films I love, Shakespeare films included.  Maybe one day.

Finding decoration images of Shakespeare-related locations for the party brought to mind how much I’d love to visit literary sites in my travels.  Those include historical sites pertaining to the bard’s life and film locations used in on-screen adaptations of his plays.  That is one way I plan to follow up my campus literary experiences.

When April 23 arrived, English department faculty and a group of students gathered in the conference room on the second floor of Holy Spirit Library.  We had pizza, soda and a cake for the party, read a variety of Shakespeare’s sonnets (I read sonnet 18) and had a guessing game of characters from his plays.

The Shakespeare birthday party was one of many memorable events that I experienced while at Cabrini College.  It was just one of the literary events we had on campus, all of which made for a great way to wrap up my final undergraduate semester.

I’m wondering if I should start a literary blog and at some point, link to this post.  Maybe I will; it would make sense, especially as something to compliment possibly going to grad school where I want to major in English.  Even if I don’t go to grad school, the literary blog is an idea I’d like to pursue.

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in College, English Literature, Grad School, Literary, Photography, Shakespeare, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

