Car show, flea market, 5k run at DCCC

A mix of oldies, classic rock and today’s pop music played for attendees and participants of three events at the main campus of Delaware County Community College.  It was a hot, sunny day as people lined up cool classic cars and set up shop for a flea market in the lots and competed in a 5K run on Sunday, June 10.

Checking out the classic cars was the main reason for going to the event.  It’s the cool wheels like those on display that add to why I love summer; so many cool cars are out on the road.  Among them at the car show, there were ’57 Chevys, antique Fords as well as Camaros, Corvettes and Mustangs of various years.  One classic model I rarely see, even less than others, is the ’68 Pontiac Firebird; it was among my favorites at the car show.  If you like classic cars, I have a lot more photos from past car shows posted on Flickr.  I also have a Flickr photo set of my all-time favorite Chevy sports car, the Camaro.

Then, it was a short walk over to the flea market to see what merchandise the vendors had to offer.  Items for sale included arts and crafts, military and athletic team caps, household items, books, jewelry, pop culture memorabilia and movies on both VHS and DVD.  For a dollar each, I bought a Shakespeare item and a book called “America’s Seashore Wonderlands.”  The book reminded me of World Oceans Day, celebrated annually on June 8; I couldn’t make it to a beach area for this year’s day of ocean awareness.  But next year, World Oceans Day falls on a saturday, so it’s already part of my plans for summer 2013.

The heat could be felt since early on and as someone who has never been into running, I have to hand it to those who could withstand it for the 5K event.  Awards were given out to various runners by category as they completed their run.  I definitely admire them because the most I would do, or be able to do, on such a hot day would be just walking at a normal pace.

On the way back to the car, I spotted a very patriotic convertible Corvette, possibly the same one that I’ve seen in Memorial Day and Veterans Day parades.  A few other cars had also showed up while I was a few lanes over, where the flea market was set up, so I took photos of those as well before leaving.

A few tables were set up right against one of the campus buildings, providing info on emergency preparedness, the Red Cross and the STEM academic program at DCCC.  At another table, there were raffle tickets being sold for use toward food, beverages and water ice.

Overall, it was a fun event that I look forward to checking out more of throughout the summer wherever they are held.

What events are you looking forward to this summer?

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Antique Cars, Car Shows, Cars, Chevy Camaro, Classic Cars, Crafts, Flea Markets, Military, Movies, Patriotic, Photography, Pop Culture, Shakespeare, Shopping, Sports, Travel, USA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

