Corvettes, other classic cars impress at Concord Mall

Travel plans changed in favor of staying local in terms of fun events last weekend, partly due to some errands.  In between those errands, there was another car show nearby mainly focusing on the Chevy Corvette.  On display inside Concord Mall for Fathers Day, the corvettes ranged from models dating back to the 1950s.

Standing near these three corvettes, I heard a young guy saying that he liked red the most.

Whether he liked the red corvette the most or the yellow one’s design, but would rather have it in red, I’m not sure.  I thought to myself, he sounds like me because if I ever buy a new Camaro, I know I’d go for a red one.

One corvette on display featured a custom paint job that included images of the Bald Eagle in various sizes.

It reminded me of this Camaro I saw at a Camaro show last summer in Delaware.  I wonder if we’ll get to see this two showcased next to each other sometime.

 

Pontiac GTO was also represented at the car show with two different year models, as well as one ’57 Chevy Bel Air.  Seeing one of those cars always makes me imagine being in the ‘50s as a teen or young adult.  I love so much in pop culture from that time.  I wish someone in my family had a ’57 Chevy Bel Air; that would be awesome!  One of my uncles had a ‘50s model Chevy or Ford pickup truck that was in good driving condition and he kept it at least into the ‘90s.

Each car showcased at the mall had a sign with a number displayed in one window so visitors could vote for their favorite.  A difficult choice among so many great entries competing for trophies.  It’s amazing how well-kept the cars are that we see at car shows.  Their owners definitely deserve great respect for the hard work that goes into the care and maintenance for these classics.  If I could ever own a classic car, I’d want to have a nice and roomy garage to store it in.

If you could own a classic car, what would it be?

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in 1950s, Car Shows, Cars, Classic Cars, Delaware and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

