Sense of safety wherever we go

The movie theater shooting incident in Aurora, Co. brought about discussions on the news of similar events in the past.  It brings to mind the idea of where we can feel safe and secure that nothing like that will happen.  Yet shootings have happened at many different venues that play active roles in our lives.

Whenever I travel somewhere just for a day, go shopping, out to eat or take in some entertainment, I’ve never felt worrisome that danger could be present.  That’s how it should be when we’re traveling, having a fun night out or simply doing errands.  We should be able to just go about whichever plans we’re pursuing without having to think about potential dangers.

Like everyone else, I want to be able to go out and enjoy entertainment events that I’ve been looking forward to for a long time.  But when another shooting incident occurs somewhere, the feelings of “where is it safe” are hard to ignore.  This time it was at a type of place that I and so many others go to often; the question of safety can be felt everywhere an interest in movies exists.  We don’t want movie theaters to be a part of a list of places at which we feel unsafe.  We love going to the movies to see our favorite actors and actresses in great characters, to see spectacular effects, etc.  Some movies make me come away with new favorite directors or the inspiration to visit locations used on the big screen.  The point is that movie theaters are a great part of us for whatever reason we go to see one movie or another.  Nobody has the right to try and take that enjoyment away.  It’s like 9/11; we haven’t stopped flying, whether for leisure or business travel.  So we won’t stop going to the movies or wherever we want to go.

I’m not sure what my usual theater choice for movie-going plans in the way of extra security.  But I still plan to see  “The Dark Knight Rises” at some point while its still in theaters.  We all deserve to take in movies and other entertaining events and we deserve to do so without fear.  My thoughts and prayers go out to the Aurora, Co. community.

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Current Events, Movies, News, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

