A taste of classic pop culture, vintage style, local history

A late breakfast / early lunch started out the day at Hollywood Grill, along Concord Pike in Delaware.  It was a dining establishment I’d been meaning to try for a while and when finally doing so last Friday, I loved it!

A mural of iconic Marilyn Monroe could be seen off to the right after passing through the inner doors.  The menu featured images of classic movie stars (and look-a-likes) on the cover.  Painted glass of other such stars also gave the restaurant a touch of old Hollywood.  Detail in the style of a film strip lined the top of a dining area called the Brandywine Room, which also had a large mural of coastal Greece.  It was a new favorite place to dine out before I had decided on what to order.

I wasn’t sure whether to go with the breakfast menu or to make it an early lunch until spotting the crab cake sliders among the latter option.  It was the first time I tried sliders of any kind and what a way to start; they were delicious and filling!

The dessert menu looked so tempting, filled with great choices but it came down to saving that for a certain future visit.  Whenever I go to these diners and restaurants with a classic pop culture theme, I wish I could run one myself!  I just love their atmosphere of nostalgia!

The next stop was a nearby Barnes & Noble store, where I wanted to look for either a book or DVD or two.  A display of vintage-look items caught my eye, some with images of the Eiffel Tower, leading to me to some travel case also having a vintage appearance.  A collage of world destinations, which I’d love to visit, decorated the oval-shaped container and I thought to use it for storing items of favorite travel memories.  So I bought it, as well as a few DVDs of movies that also feature some dream destinations: “Leap Year” and “Paris, Je T’aime.”  I saw the former of those and wrote about it on my Film Inspired blog a while back; I’ll be writing about the latter movie soon.

After the bookstore, a few errands were taken care of before winding through the county  to stop by at a fairly new ice cream parlor.  Just Ice Cream was another place I hadn’t been to before and it, too, featured a great variety of classic pop culture images decorated its walls.  I could see them through the windows as I approached the door and knew I’d love this ice cream shop!  John Wayne, Betty Boop cartoons, “I Love Lucy,” “The Wizard of Oz,” Elizabeth Taylor, James Cagney and various bands were among those of the entertainment world.  Print posters of classic cars at drive-ins and diners were also displayed in the midst of famous faces.  A couple of shelves with vintage items, including two cameras dating back to different years, lined the wall behind the counter.  I went for a classic banana split, a sizable yet once-in-a-while dessert of choice.

As I scooped my way through ice cream, I heard some talk among other customers of the area’s role in music history.  For instance, the former home of Bill Haley (of Bill Haley & the Comets) is not too far away and I’ve seen it many times on the way to and from local shopping centers.

After the delicious dessert, I wanted to check out a thrift store a couple doors away and this brings me back to more objects out of the distant past.  Looking around the store, a little antique dress caught my eye.  Although I didn’t buy it, the dress was interesting to me because I had never seen anything like it.  I couldn’t help wondering about the dress, its past and who once wore it.  What was its original owner’s life like?  It made me imagine someone rummaging through the attic of an old house they just moved into and finding the peach, lacy dress among other clothes from a long-ago era.

The other day, a few more errands led to spotting a few local places of great history.  One I had never seen before since I was passing through on a rare occasion to get where I was going.  It was an old, worn building without windows on an upper level.  I wish I had been able to take a photo of it for a better visual of its current state.  According to the Old Chester Pa website section on schools (colleges & universities), the building was called Sleepers College.  Part of the top of the building was obstructed from my view and I could only see part of the year 1910 and under the digits, “College.”

Leaving the old college’s particular location, I eventually went passed Deshong Park, which has a few old structures.  I took this photo of the more worn-looking of the two buildings years back.  At the time of that photo, the Deshong Mansion was a new discovery to me, situated where I didn’t ride through beforehand.  It’s one of those gems of local history that stir in me wonder of its past upon first glances.  It’s amazing what can be seen, even quite locally, when just taking a different route through the area!  There are other buildings I’ve seen many times, old homes along one road through Chester.  Two of these old homes stand side-by-side, covered to an unbelievable degree in overgrowth.  I’m hoping to take a photo or two of them sometime soon because I don’t know how long they’ll be standing.  Worn out and covered as they are, they look somewhat enchanting in their present state as it adds mystery to them.

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Delaware, Dining, Film Locations, Historic, History, Movies, Pennsylvania, Photography, Pop Culture, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

