Hurricane Sandy and coastal areas

Between my recent Cape May trip and this week’s severe weather from Hurricane Sandy, I’m wondering how the places I visited are faring.  While I was there, as I think about various places I’ve been, I thought how I’d love to live in Cape May.  In that town’s case, it would be to live among its history and beautiful architecture.  It’s also partly from the fact that my family has ties to coastal areas such as the Outer Banks of North Carolina.  So there’s a natural draw to the seaside settings.

We weren’t sure how much of Sandy that the Outer Banks would feel, so as with many storms, my family watches coverage closely.  There are a lot of relatives living along the Outer Banks.  Even when they’re evacuated to safety, we wonder how their homes will hold up.

The coastlines and other places, however, always have that thought in the back of my mind about when nature strikes.  I don’t live where storm surges are the immediate danger; it’s usually the wind strength that makes me nervous, what with tornado warnings in the past.  I remember there were tornado warnings for towns and counties all around us last year when Hurricane Irene reached the Philly area.  If I did ever live in a coastal town, I’d want to live where there are higher ground settings a ways off the shoreline, but hurricane-strength winds and higher-up spots don’t mix either.

As far as the coastal places I stopped at back on Oct. 20, I just think about how I was there on a normal day of weather.  According to the Weather Channel coverage of Hurricane Sandy, the storm surge predictions range up to 10 feet depending on the locations.

When I walked around at East Point Lighthouse, these were some of the views I saw on the average, sunny day.

There were also a few small structures right along the water, not too far from the lighthouse.  I remember one of the other women asking the guide up in the lighthouse tower about those structures.  The guide replied by saying that people don’t live there during the winter unless they had to.

Cape May Lighthouse has dune paths between it and the beach; at Sunset Beach, however, it’s more flat with sand leading out to a pebbled area toward the water.

Hope all are safe in the affected areas up and down the coast.

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Beaches, Nature, New Jersey, Storms, Travel, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hurricane Sandy and coastal areas

  1. eileen says:

    I love this place. My family still owns property at East Point. I am wondering how Sandy affected the area myself.Hope it wasn’t hit bad

Leave a Reply

