A King Tut lecture and my bucket list of ancient sites

A lecture at Ridley Township Public Library, about King Tutankhamun brought a wealth of info beyond what I already knew on the subject.  I remember writing a paper on King Tut for a class years back, focusing on Howard Carter’s exploration leading to the discovery of the tomb.  However, the lecture, held on Monday, Nov. 26, detailed archaeologists who came to the Valley of the Kings before Carter did, made discoveries and left.

Then came Carter’s finds, followed by info presented on what the hieroglyphs and cartouches revealed.  Photos in the slideshow included images of treasured items I had never seen before in various books.  Whether on chariots, furniture, jewelry, sandals, storage containers or other items, the details were fascinating!

Attending the lecture also stirred up thoughts of seeing the ancient sites of Egypt one day.  As someone who loves historic places, I’ve always wanted to see the oldest sites around the world.  Dr. Stephen Phillips, from the University of Penn Museum, discussed his travel experiences to Egypt during his lecture.  With a laser point, he traced in a photo, the path along which buses take tourists into the Valley of the Kings.  From a visitors center, Dr. Phillips told his audience that people could continue on foot or trams to go further.  One photo showed a stairway going up into a crevice in a mountain; the staircase was part of a path to see one of the tombs.

This was the first time I ever saw a tourist’s eye view of exploring and getting around the home of King Tut’s tomb.  I couldn’t help imagining myself there!  A few people in the group had been to Egypt recently and Dr. Phillips’ experience there made it so inviting, especially with the details of touring the the Valley of the Kings.

With the lecture inspiring ideas of travels to ancient sites, those of Egypt weren’t the only ones on my mind.  Here are a few more of the world’s ancient sites that I would love to see one day:

  • Newgrange
  • Acropolis
  • Colosseum
  • Pantheon
  • Pompeii
  • Pyramids of Giza
  • The Sphinx
  • Tikal
  • Machu Picchu
  • Easter Island

Until I get to visit one of these, I’ll be going to the University of Penn Museum soon to take in artifacts on display.  That is also another Philly attraction which I have not yet been to; hopefully it’ll be part of many travels to come, focusing on ancient history.

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Historic, History, Museums, Philadelphia, Tours, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

