Groundhog Day: Winter vs Spring

I’ve always thought it would be fun to check out the Groundhog Day festivities one of these years.  After all, it’s a traditional event in my home state and the Punxsutawney area is a part of Pennsylvania that I haven’t traveled to yet.  As for the famous groundhog, Punxsutawney Phil, there always seems to be a debate about the accuracy of weather predictions and the critter’s shadow.  Accurate or not, I don’t mind the thought of an early spring, which was the outcome of this year’s Groundhog Day, according to this article on Philly.com.

The months of January and February in 2010 and 2011 were rough and brought some big snowstorms in my area.  Last year, however was a welcome change with some very mild days.  It was warm enough to bring people out on the roads in their convertibles to enjoy the rare February days in Pennsylvania. On those days, I drove home from campus with my t-top opened up like it was April.

Each year in February, I start feeling eager to be in the clear for no more snow until winter returns.  Of course, I always head into winter hoping not to see the kind of scenes brought on by a blizzard.  When we do get blizzards, I can’t wait until it melts and gives way to clear roads once again.

Snow does makes for a pretty scenes though, like those you may find in winter catalogs for outdoorsy clothes.  It inspires a cozy, rural vacation of taking in beautiful wintry surroundings in nature.  If you can sit back and gaze out at settings like that, it’s easy to enjoy the snow and the enchanting mood it can add to the landscape.

My wintry photos are on Flickr, varying between scenic images and others that I took just for documenting purposes.  We’ll see if I’ll have more to add before this winter season is over.  We’ve had more days and nights of icy, chilly temperatures than inches of snow this year.  Even without any snow, those frigid winter digits have me longing for spring.

But that’s me; I’m always going to prefer spring, summer and fall above winter in terms of temperatures.  I love those times of the year for different reasons, beyond weather, as well.  I took the photo below back when I was at West Chester University of Pa.; it looks like a nice, relaxing study spot!  Check out more of my spring photos on Flickr.

Springtime at WCUPA, 2008.

Springtime at WCUPA, 2008.

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Blizzard, Flickr, Nature, Pennsylvania, Photography, Snow, Spring, Weather, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

