Culinary Tours: Delaware

Although Delaware borders my home state, there is quite a bit of the First State that I haven’t yet experienced.  That includes the Delaware Culinary Trail, a dining activity covering restaurants in several counties.  As this is a foodie first of mine, I’m going to make this the first of hopefully many posts about culinary tours.  I’ve written about a few restaurants on my blog, but this inspires me to expand my tastes further to dining events and travel.

I first heard about this via Delaware Tourism Office on Twitter (search #DECulinary, as well) and thought, why not try it?  As a bonus, some of the participating restaurants are in areas of Delaware that would be new to me.  I’ll have to map them out, but some may be close to some of the lighthouses I’d like to see.  So the culinary trail will double as a sight-seeing excursion of my neighboring state to the south.

Meanwhile, I’m going to keep an eye out for info on foodie tours of other destinations and list those I find in an upcoming post.  Check out some of my food photos on Flickr and dishes I spotted on Foodspotting.

If you’ve tried any culinary tours, what were your favorite ones?  Were there any restaurants that stood out as dining favorites?

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Culinary, Delaware, Dining, Flickr, Food, Foodie, Foodspotting, Photography, Tours, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

