Future visits to New York City

I Love NYC

I’ve been to New York City five times in my life and feel slightly familiar with its theatre district.  So I hope to go back a few times throughout 2013, as a way to get to know the city and its districts even better.  With new and exciting events year-round, there are so many urban adventures and experiences there that I can’t wait to have myself.

The first couple of visits to the Big Apple were in my high school years and then I went back several times in college.  I was a non-traditional college student, so those high school and college visits to the city were quite far apart.  I loved my earlier visits to New York City and it became a place that I would love going to for the day or a weekend.  I hoped to do so more often over the years.  Instead, a long absence from the city occurred and after that first time back to New York City in March 2011, I fell in love with it all over again.  Going back after so many years included my first time catching a Broadway show.

As a college student of journalism, I became fairly active in social media and from that, I found many more things I love about life in New York City.  The next two times in the city during college, I saw two more Broadway shows and grew more excited about being there.  Between those multiple collegiate visits to NYC and learning more about things to do via social media, I began to wish I could live in that amazing city one day.  Even if I  did so for a couple of months, that would be amazing!

Read more about my recent visits to New York City:

I’ve only experienced a small amount of what there is to do; check out some of my photos on Flickr.  New York City has so many more things to offer that I’d love to check out, from the museums, dining and tours.  So, I’m sharing what I love about it as my own little ode to NYC whether or not I’ve experienced them.

  • Broadway
  • Old theatre architecture
  • St. Patrick’s Cathedral
  • Empire State Building
  • Statue of Liberty
  • Manhattanhenge
  • Times Square
  • Central Park
  • Wollman’s Ice Rink
  • 4th of July Fireworks
  • Parades for St. Patty’s & Thanksgiving
  • Rockefeller Center
  • Hayden Planetarium
  • Guggenheim
  • MOMA
  • AMNH
  • NYPL
  • Bryant Park
  • The Strand Bookstore
  • Greenwich Village
  • NYU
  • Literary crawls
  • Rooftop poetry readings
  • Rooftop film screenings
  • Film location tours
  • Madame Tussaud’s
  • Connection to classic Hollywood era
  • Theatre souvenir gift shops
  • Discovery Times Square exhibits
  • Midtown cafes and diners
  • A Slice of NY
  • Carnegie Deli
  • Serendipity 3
  • Planet Hollywood
  • Hard Rock Cafe
  • Grand Central Terminal
  • The Intrepid

Showing more love for NYC on Pinterest.

I’ve got some of the above places saved on the tripadvisor NYC Guide for nook, as part of my plans to go with a friend.  We’re hoping to see Wicked the Musical as well!

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Broadway, Flickr, Journalism, New York City, Photography, Pinterest, Social Media, Theatre, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Future visits to New York City

  1. Peggy Tee says:

    I’ve watched Wicked three times, it is *that* good! I love NYC too (who doesn’t!) but I have to say my perspective on the city changed when I lived there for about 10 months or so… it’s a very different city to a visitor and to a resident. I still miss it though! Have fun when you’re back in the city, and say hello to the Chrysler for me!

Leave a Reply

