Travel ideas for summer 2013

Summer always makes me look forward to getting out for more road trips, whether a destination is familiar or new territory.  I’m not sure yet which places I’ll visit, but here are just a few places that are on my travel list for the next few months.

Philadelphia

Liberty Bell

There are some outdoor cafes I’d love to try in between visiting historic sites around Philly that I still haven’t seen.  I’ll probably get to this city a few times throughout the summer, so I’d like to see the Edgar Allan Poe site and maybe take in a tour of movie locations.

Gettysburg

IMG_4854

It’s been just about two years since my last trip to a town that long ago witnessed part of the Civil War.  This year, events commemorating the 150th anniversary of the battles are continuing; that’s my main reason for possibly going back soon.  Along with that, I want to see more of the historic sites I missed last time, such as the Jennie Wade House, Sach’s Bridge, more monuments and further past Gettysburg, the Cashtown Inn.

New York City

I Love NYC

I saw some Manhattanhenge photos on Twitter, reminding me that I want to try catching a glimpse of that phenomenon sometime.  Of course, I want to go back to New York City to take in many more sights and hopefully, another Broadway show.  I’ll have to visit a few times, or even stay overnight, to take in as much as I can.  Spending the night in New York City would be a travel first for me.

Baltimore and Washington, D.C.

The last time I visited either of these cities, I was still using a film camera.  Now that I have a good DSLR, I’m hoping to go back to either if not both this year for more photography.  I have a few film photos of Baltimore and D.C. on Flickr; one excursion to each city will catch those photo albums up with others.  I love going to the Inner Harbor and in D.C., there are a few museums I haven’t yet been to, including the Newseum.  With journalism in my college background, I’ve got to check out that one!

Delaware

A gazebo in the town of Bridgeville.

A gazebo in the town of Bridgeville.

Although it’s the smallest border state to Pennsylvania, I haven’t actually covered a lot of its ground.  In seeing more of the state, I’m hoping to visit some of the lighthouses along the coastline.  Plus, I still have to try some of the First State’s restaurants featured  in the Delaware Culinary Trail.

On some recent trips to these destinations, I came across a lot of unexpected and interesting sights along the way.  This year’s Memorial Day weekend is a perfect example of that.  My family had plans to go to Shady Maple, so a group of us headed out to the Lancaster area in two cars along route 322.  We usually take that route, which is why I was surprised that I had never noticed a historical marker mentioning a poet.  Maybe it was a new marker.  I didn’t get a very good look at it beyond that, but it piqued my curiosity about any literary ties in the area.  Next time I’m heading out to Lancaster, I’ll keep my eye out for it and hopefully will get a better look to find out more.  No matter how many times I’ve been to a particular location, I always love discovering something more about it.

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Baltimore, Broadway, Culinary, Delaware, Flickr, Gettysburg, Lighthouses, Literary, New York City, Philadelphia, Photography, Travel, Washington D.C. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

