Outer Banks memories inspire future visits

Another season of beach travel is under way and reminds me of past summer trips to coastal areas.  One such favorite destination is the Outer Banks of North Carolina, although it’s been nine years since my last visit.  So, of course, I look forward to going back and I hope it’ll be in the near future.  Maybe next year?  We’ll see.

The Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, an iconic Outer Banks landmark.

The Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, an iconic Outer Banks landmark.

When I think back to that last vacation, staying not far from the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, I also imagine the next time.  Two visits, 10 years apart, will be different for me in many ways.

In 2004, a week of daily exploration was captured in photos I took, switching between color and black and white film.  Some details of that vacation weren’t documented, such as every restaurant at which I ate lunch or dinner.  This was before the world of mobile apps with which we could check-in, spot foodie delights, etc.  However, I do remember a few dining establishments and why I liked them.

The Diamond Shoals Restaurant was one place chosen for dinner one night and to this day, I remember the dish I ordered.  It was a plate with a delicious seafood combo of crab cake and salmon!

One outing for lunch was at the Buxton Munch, where I remember thinking of it as a great spot to go between sightseeing.  I loved the relaxed atmosphere!  I know that if I were an Outer Banks resident, my friends and I would be a regular part of the lunch crowd.

Cool Waves Ice Cream Shoppe was my favorite dessert spot and its grounds included a section for mini-golf.  I could also see myself going here quite a bit with friends if I were a local.

Howard’s Pub had a great casual feel and I loved all the interesting decorations hanging throughout.  It was recommended by a relative on my mom’s side of the family, who lived in Hatteras.  Grabbing lunch there was a wonderful compliment to the time spent on Ocracoke!

Check out some of my Outer Banks sightseeing in photos on Flickr.  As you can see, I love this place for its history, scenery, and activities, as well as the great food!

Supposing I do go back to the Outer Banks next summer, it’ll be an experience captured not just with photography.  I’ve always got a camera when I travel, so I’ll being using a DSLR, especially for far-away objects.  But along with the film-to-digital camera change, social media will definitely come into play.  Instagram, Foursquare and Foodspotting; I love those apps!  I’ll probably bring my laptop along next time, so that I can blog about each day’s sightseeing and dining experiences.  It’s all a part of my love of travel writing, as well as a great interest in social media that developed during my undergraduate journalism classes.

I also plan to keep a journal with me to make notes the pen-and-paper way; a journal may also serve in some creative writing work inspired by the area.  Another trip to the Outer Banks will be a great place to relax and get some ideas for nonfiction writing in literary form.  I recently bought a journal decorated with seashells, model sailboats and  stripes in multiple shades of blue.  It has a sand-beige pen and a light blue ribbon ties the journal closed.  Perfect for writing in while visiting the Outer Banks, or any coastal destination, whether I make notes for my blog or for creative nonfiction!

The photography, social media and writing are ways in which the next visit will be different on my part.  I look forward to seeing what’s new in the Outer Banks itself since it’s been so long.  A favorite coastal destination for many reasons, the Outer Banks is a place that I hope to visit numerous times in the coming years.

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Beaches, Coastal, Dining, Flickr, Foodie, Foodspotting, Foursquare, History, Instagram, Journalism, Lighthouse, Mobile Apps, North Carolina, OBX, Outer Banks, Photography, Social Media, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

