Drawing inspiration from travel

A spiral journal perfect for jotting down travel notes.

A spiral journal perfect for jotting down travel notes.

Now that I’m in grad school and pursing an M.F.A. in creative writing, I have a few ideas for writing in the nonfiction genre.  Blogging about the places I visit, as well as taking pictures along the way, is helping to inspire more work which I hope to have published elsewhere.  I can always share links to online editions on here at some point if something I submit makes it to the pages of a publication.

So, what I’m going to do is look back on some of my blog posts and photos for creative nonfiction story content.  What I write may not be based on an entire day of exploring; it could be inspired by a particular site here and there.  I wrote some stories in the creative nonfiction genre for a recent assignment already; those were based on trips to New York City, Cape May and the Outer Banks.  I think it’ll be a good way to put together a portfolio of literary work.

East Point Lighthouse, a very interesting and scenic site to visit in southern New Jersey.

East Point Lighthouse, a very interesting and scenic site to visit in southern New Jersey.

Also, whenever I’m in between excursions for a while, I want to work on posting my thoughts on various travel news.  I can keep my blog content going more steadily without relying on going somewhere, whenever there’s a lot of work to do for my classes or errands.  Besides, with the winter months coming up again, I won’t be doing as much traveling.

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel, Travel News, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

