Holidays and springtime in NYC

View of New York City

Moments before the clock struck midnight, I tuned in to one of the channels with live coverage of celebrations.  It was just in time to see someone holding up a sign that read, “New Years Eve in Times Square is the best!”  Ringing in a new year there has been a travel bucket list item of mine for quite a while now.  I would love to finally check that one off while welcoming 2015.  But no matter when I get to be in Times Square as a new year begins, I want to plan on having a hotel room from which to look out over the crowd and view the festivities.  Hopefully, I could be there at least several days before and stay a few days after as well.  Maybe traveling in and out of the city would be at normal levels of traffic.

I’m not sure, though, since I’ve never been in New York City that close to a major holiday.  I’d have a lot to consider, especially the higher costs compared to the rest of the year.  Of course, there are a few holiday events which I’d love to experience in NYC as well:

  • St. Patrick’s Day Parade
  • 4th of July Fireworks
  • Thanksgiving Day Parade
  • Rockefeller Christmas Tree Lighting

Aside from holidays, I’m hoping to go back sometime during spring to see another Broadway show.  This time, I want to see “Of Mice and Men” at the Longacre Theatre, starring James Franco, Chris O’Dowd and Leighton Meester.  It’s too early to know if I’ll be staying over for a night again, although I’m already looking into nearby midtown hotels.  On my last trip to NYC, booking a hotel room was last-minute after deciding to drive there and everything went smoothly with the reservations.  In case I do stay overnight again, I want to make plans a little more ahead of time.  Besides, that’ll help for booking any tours to go on as well.

Going by the performance dates I saw for the show, I might be able to wait until after my spring semester is over to see it.  I won’t know for sure about going to see “Of Mice and Men” until closer to spring.  But visiting NYC for any of the holiday events will most likely be into the more distant future, even beyond this year.

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Broadway, Holidays, New York City, Theatre, Tours, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

