Exploring inspirational Ridley Creek State Park

A recent visit to Ridley Creek State Park, although only exploring a small area of it, was very inspiring. Walking from a parking lot near a small bridge, I passed a couple of houses with very nature-friendly yards. Bird feeders, wind chimes, stone paths. Ivy swags climbed up around nearby trees.

Ivy Swag Tree

It was a very enchanting setting, which made me think of those in various fairy tales with cottages in a forest. Adding to that were the old, stony ruins of long-ago residents in the area. Several signs posted nearby gave visitors info on these structures from the past, yet they still had a look of mystery.

Old Ruins RCSP

For so many years, I had only come through the park by bus or driven to and from work. As someone who loves old buildings and their history, I felt in awe of those I finally saw in the park. Besides that step-back-in-time feeling, it was hard to believe I hadn’t seen what was in park. You never know what interesting stories are practically right under your nose in local areas.

Up until this trip, what I knew about Ridley Creek State Park included the Colonial Plantation. That’s another historic site that I have to visit sometime. Going by photos that people have posted with their Foursquare check-ins, there are a number of other interested spots in the park that I’d love to see as well.

During the same visit, I also had my first glimpse of the park’s waterfall as the creek spilled down over several feet to its lower section. This was another of my favorite features in the park, as waterfalls are scenes in nature that I hadn’t taken any photos of beforehand.

Ivy and Waterfall

Waterfalls RCSP

There are many in the mid-Atlantic region alone that I’d love to visit and photograph, as well as those in farther away. Of the ones I listed below, I’ve been to Ricketts Glen for a camping trip back in high school. Unfortunately, I didn’t have a camera on hand. So, I’m hoping to return to that park sometime in the future after seeing some amazing photos of its waterfalls posted online.

  • Ricketts Glen, Pa.
  • Bushkill Falls, Pa.
  • Beaver Brook Falls, N.H.
  • Triphammer Falls, Ithaca, N.Y.
  • Wappinger Falls, N.Y.
  • Watkins Glen, N.Y.
  • Niagara Falls
  • Horsetail Falls – Yosemite National Park, Calif.
  • Bridalveil Falls – Yosemite National Park, Calif.
  • Bridal Veil Falls – Ore.
  • Multnomah Falls – Ore.
  • Havasu Falls – Grand Canyon, Ariz.

I hope I’ll get to check off these parks and waterfalls as I travel. Until then, I found a couple of books on the mid-Atlantic region’s waterfalls to add to any day trips.

  • Waterfalls of the Mid-Atlantic States: 200 Falls in Maryland, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania, by Gary Letcher
  • Pennsylvania Waterfalls: A Guide for Hikers and Photographers, by Scott E. Brown

 

Overall, just seeing a little bit of a park inspires further exploration there as well as at other places of natural beauty. Whenever I go somewhere, it adds to my interest in travel. The destination I’m writing about next is no exception. Check out more of the photos I took at scenic and historic Ridley Creek State Park, posted on Flickr.

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Flickr, Historic, National Parks, Nature, Pennsylvania, Photography, Scenic, State Parks, Travel, USA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

