Writing on travel, learning expectations in Ireland

Clover

As my trip to Dublin gets closer, I have some homework to do prior to an introductory meeting mid-way through July. There are a few forms to fill out and bring with me, one of which is a passenger info sheet. It includes airplane seating preferences of window or aisle and I figure I’ll choose the latter for more leg room. However, I’d love to get a few aerial photos or quick video from the trip, if I could momentarily sit in a group member’s window seat:

  • One of the plane’s wings
  • View of Dublin
  • The Irish patchwork landscape
  • Coming back to PHL, ships along and near Penn’s Landing

I’ll also need to write a brief paper about what I expect from my overall experiences in Ireland. A longer paper will be a proposal in which to cover various angles of working within the city of Dublin and how the program could assist in any plans for a business. In that paper, I’ll also have to include what can be gained in my professional abilities as a result. For me, there’s a general response already developing in regards to the last part. I don’t have a highly business-oriented background in my education. However, if I were to conduct business abroad, I could apply what I learn during my time in Dublin to travel photography and writing. My business could center on those activities to the extent of requiring to meet with tourism industry workers. From that point, gaining knowledge of numerous locations to visit and through photography or writing, promote traveling to those places. As a graduate student on the trip, I’ll have to write about the marketing side of business, so I think I’m in the right direction to some degree. I just need to think about a good idea for the proposal paper.

One more writing assignment is journaling and this will be my favorite to work on before, during and afterward. From jotting down rough notes in the journal I mentioned in the last post, to blogging my Ireland travels, it makes me feel very inspired! Covering the trip on my blog will also count as credit toward the M.F.A., for which my thesis will be travel-themed.

A second meeting will take place after we’re back and its purposes include showing journals to our fellow travelers. We’ll also be talking about a particular activity called the “Dublin Scavenger Hunt.” I did a Google search on that and found a mix of such events that a company’s team could do, as well as others that are tourist-oriented. Since our focus is business, I’m wondering if we’ll do a business student version of the first or if it will be one for tourists. Either way, it sounds very interesting and will be a great way to explore Dublin! I’ve heard of scavenger hunts held within cities across the U.S. and have been wanting to try one.

In the meantime, I look forward to meeting the other students with whom I’ll be traveling. Those several hours will be both informational in what we need to know, as well as fun in getting to meet each other. When I attended the first general interest info session about the trip, one staff member told me that in the past, a creative writing student went to Dublin and I should talk with her. So I’ll keep an eye out to introduce myself if she’ll be going again. I also want to ask around about what others want to check out on the free days we’ll have in Ireland. That’s another aspect I’m excited about, getting to explore the sights and make new travel friends!

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Air Travel, Dublin, Global Studies, International, Ireland, Photography, Study Abroad, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

