Travel shopping and a pre-trip Irish dinner

Only a little over a week was left before leaving for Ireland and there were still some issues to work out with my credits. Now, it’s the day before and everything is settled and I’m even registered for my fall semester classes. There is one more which I’ll need to be signed up for manually by the registrar: my thesis. I’m thinking about writing something about my trip for its topic.

A couple of saturdays ago, I spent a full day at the Christiana Mall and bought a number of travel items. At a store called J.Jill, I found some great business casual pieces to mix and match. They don’t wrinkle, so they’re perfect for when I’ll be visiting several companies with my group. The sales associates were very nice and helpful with everything! A lot of tech and luggage gear were purchased at Capitol Luggage (pictured below) and an iPad bluetooth keyboard / case set at Brookstone.

Travel Items

Speaking of Brookstone, they have skates that one of the associates was rolling around the store on to show customers. They reminded me of those older skates that people would just step into wearing their shoes, only with a cool, updated look. A front wheel, two more by the ankle and then a rear one with breaks. I haven’t skated in years; that goes for rollerblading as well. But I’d love to get a pair of these and use them as summer turns to fall. They’d make for fun exercise before the cold of winter sets in!

Earlier this week, I went back to Molly Maguire’s to celebrate going to Ireland with some traditional Irish flavor. The Colcannon Potato Balls were a delicious appetizer, topped off with a little bit of Guinness sampled from a small glass. Main course: The Trio. Guinness is actually one of the companies my group will be visiting to learn about business in Ireland.

Little Bit Guinness 2

The Trio Dtown MM

My next posts will probably be after the trip, once I go through journal notes and photos taken while exploring Irish scenes. A few days after I’m back, there is a local Blackthorn concert, which I’d love to catch as a festive follow-up to my trip.

 

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Air Travel, Dining, Dublin, Foodie, Global Studies, International, Ireland, Study Abroad, Travel, What To Pack and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

