Further exploring on the SS United States

The past year brought about several favorite travel experiences, from local to international. For my first post of 2015, I thought I’d write about revisiting the S.S. United States for another photo tour. This was my favorite local excursion of 2014 and although our group followed the same general path as before, we saw a few different parts of the ship this time around.

SSUS Dock View

Read about my first photo tour of the S.S. United States.

Before I go continue, each opportunity I had to board was limited to a small group of S.S. United States Conservancy members.

I didn’t get a photo of this spiral staircase that time and wanted to do so if another chance to board came along. It led to a small landing that I’d say two people could stand on together. From there, we climbed a very steep set of stairs single-file, to arrive at a hallway stretching a long way to the right and left of us. It was slow-going to ascend in the darkness outside of the beams from our flashlights. Stripped state rooms were across from the staircase doorway.

SSUS Spiral Stairs

At one end of a promenade deck, wildlife taking up residence as couple of goose eggs rested among growing weeds.

SSUS Goose Eggs

In the mild weather of the late September tour, we were able to see what was once a recreation area. All across it, the surface was chipped into many pieces of green material. That particular spot may have been too dangerous to walk around on when covered with snow during the previous tour.

SSUS Game Court

Heading forward again, our group stopped to look inside the theater room and like before, it made me imagine long-ago performers and their audience. This time, I decided to get the performers’ perspective from the stage. With their flashlight, someone spotted “S.O.S.” painted in large red letters on the back wall.

SSUS Onstage

As we passed through a dining area, another stage came into view. This one looks like it was used for small bands and their instrumental setups.

SSUS Small Stage

One more place we stopped at this time was around to the right side of the smoke stacks. Our group didn’t climb up to go through that red door, which was ok with me. I didn’t expect to see the door, so wandering to this spot made for a nice surprise.

SSUS Smoke Stack

All over the ship, I felt inspired by it, picturing long-ago crew and passengers alike as they spent time onboard. The history of the S.S. United States is why I’m hoping it will be saved, as well as its being a very unique part of the country’s past. So, here’s to 2015 bringing only more good news in the preservation efforts for this historic ship.

SSUS Banner

Check out more photos from the tour on Flickr.

 

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Flickr, Historic, Maritime, Philadelphia, Photography, Preservation, Ships, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

