Celebrating the art of photography throughout November

As someone who enjoys writing, I know about National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), a challenge to finish literary work. That’s a goal I’d love to reach someday, including nonfiction novels with a travel theme, as well as other genres. I’ve also thought about working on books of photography as a way to help get my visual work out there. Another fun means to do so is NaPhoPoMo, a creative event that runs through November. It was actually half over when I first learned about National Photo Posting Month. However, I tried to snap some images as my schedule allowed during the remaining days. After all, photography is an art form I love!

Out of the photos I took for the visual challenge, my favorites include those I took while visiting Valley Forge National Historical Park. I hadn’t noticed this three-sided (one side is a fence) structure during previous excursions to the revolutionary war era site. This time, however, the vibrant yellow leaves of autumn that surrounded it caught my attention. I was on the trolley tour, heading back to the visitor center and decided to go back to this particular spot separately. It’s was near the Washington Memorial Chapel, which wasn’t one of the scheduled stops on the tour. By the way, if you’ve never been to the chapel, definitely check it out!

VF Autumn Three Side 2

VF Autumn Three Side 12

The little wooden structure is not far off the road and just on the edge of a parking lot. However, in some of my photos, it looks as though it’s isolated deep in a wooded area. Just imagine wandering in a forest and stumbling upon an old, lone shed or other such building. It sure would be mysterious! With so many old houses I’ve taken photos of over the years, it also falls right into my favorite subjects to capture in images.

What is your favorite subject to take pictures of in your travels? If you took the NaPhoPoMo challenge, what drew your attention the most for great photo composition?

Check out my new Flickr album, NaPhoPoMo, for more photos from this past month. I’m looking forward to next year’s challenge.

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Flickr, Foliage, Historic, NaPhoPoMo, National Parks, National Photo Posting Month, Nature, Pennsylvania, Photography, Tours, Travel, Valley Forge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

