Travel memories sparked, goals renewed via Facebook and old blogs

A particular experience that is waiting to be checked off of my travel bucket list was among recent “On This Day” Facebook posts. It was an article about options for staying at a lighthouse. Since the original date I’d shared it, new people had been added to my friend list. So, I thought, why not re-share this?

Maritime Windchime

Maybe recent connections would also enjoy reading about which beacons are available as unique accommodations. Besides, doing so made for quick access once more to an item hidden way back in my timeline. If a friend or I wanted to make reservations at a lighthouse, the information would be easy to find. That’s why I like the “On This Day” feature; it serves a purpose as a helpful reference, making content worthy of sharing again. Also, a travel goal is brought back to the forefront of my mind. Seeing that “stay at a lighthouse” article again was like a reminder sounding off: “Here’s one of your travel goals. Get to it; it’ll be amazing!”

I’m planning to re-share some old blog posts from another platform as well. Long before I used WordPress, a favorite place to share thoughts was on Yahoo! 360 and when that section was to be discontinued, I saved copies of all that I posted there. I also wrote on the Myspace blog section, but started to back up those posts as well, upon deciding to cancel my account. Although what I wrote about on both Yahoo! 360 and Myspace varied in topics, there were a number of travel-themed posts. Among those were a variety of road trip ideas; who doesn’t love a good road trip?

While on the subject of such adventures, I’m looking forward to further exploration of Delaware, including a number of scenic state parks; it’s a perfect idea, now that spring is here! To top off park visits, why not enjoy dining at a restaurant with a relaxing maritime view as well? A list of these were included in an article, entitled, “18 Incredible Waterfront Restaurants in Delaware That Everyone Should Visit,” via a Web site called Only In Your State.

Anyway, since I only have the hard copies of my old posts, I want to re-share them as new content here every so often. Depending on the destination, there may be more I’d like to add to the originals. I’m also hoping that they will help with my upcoming thesis, which will be a collection of short travel stories to complete my MFA in creative nonfiction.

So, here’s to renewing travel plans!

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Adventures, Coastal, Delaware, Dining, Food, Foodie, Lighthouses, Maritime, Nature, Scenic, State Parks, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

