Travel plans change, new adventure awaits

An opportunity to visit England this summer changed unexpectedly, yet I’m hoping that it’ll only lead to another chance soon. I have until early May 2017 to use my airline ticket, so I figured, why not make it up by going to England by then? While over there, I’d love to add several other destinations to my plans – Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and a return to Ireland – before coming back home.

galway celt knotwork

This might even end up being first-time solo travel experience, since I’m not sure if anyone will be able to join me. It’s hard for me to believe I could possibly be taking that on, considering I’m not an experienced globe trekker. However, so many bloggers writing about their solo adventures have inspired my wanderlust with the places they’ve been to and I would dream about following in their steps. Solo or not, a number of sites to see and places to eat are saved in Foursquare lists for each country in the British Isles. Too many to name in these enchanting destinations!

I also recently found out about a winter trip to Sicily, offered by my grad school. Unlike Italy, this small country isn’t one that I know much about in terms of sightseeing. A link sent out about the opportunity included photos of amazing ancient sites to check out. So, whether or not I use my airline ticket for Sicily, instead of going to the British Isles, I’ve decided to add it to my list of must-see countries. Maybe I’ll make it an Italy / Sicily / Greece combo trip in that case. It won’t be long until I know for sure about going to Italy’s island neighbor, but if not, I’ll be working on my U.K. travel plans.

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Air Travel, British Isles, England, Foursquare, Greece, International, Ireland, Italy, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Sicily, Solo Travel, Travel, UK, Wales and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

