Slow year of travel in 2016, plans for 2017 and beyond

This past year hasn’t been too exciting in terms of travel, after it turned out that I couldn’t make it to Sicily. What happened was that the money for the England trip, for whatever reason, couldn’t be applied to Sicily and made covering the cost more difficult. I still have a plane ticket to use until May 9, 2017. I’d have to go somewhere and come back by that date. It’s just a matter of getting any remaining travel expenses figured out. There’s also the idea of trying to find a travel partner among anyone I know. With my lack of travel abroad experience, I’m not sure if I’m ready for going solo. Although, I’m considering it because of the first-time adventure it would bring on.

I probably won’t use that ticket to explore Sicily on my own, due to extra costs in comparison to England. When it was still possible to go, I found out that I’d have to fly to Italy. I loved that because it allowed for an extra country on the way and I’ve always wanted to go there as well. But how would I cover airfare for the flights between Italy and Sicily, not to mention the overall tuition? A deadline of mid-November was approaching faster than the money could be saved and financial aid at my college wouldn’t be able to help with funding until spring. If I could visit
more places, I’d be a full-time travel blogger; at least, I’d hope to make that my dream career.

Despite having to let go of this Mediterranean adventure, I looked at it this way: it doesn’t mean that it’ll never happen. If ever I get another chance, I have the itinerary, so I’m not at a loss for what to do once there. One item on the schedule even included an excursion up onto the active volcano, Mt. Etna, a thrill-seeking experience I never pictured myself having the opportunity to do! Also in the plans, diving into the foodie side of culture with a cooking class. That’s definitely on my must-do list for European travel.

My family also encountered a health emergency when my dad went into the hospital in late October. Not knowing what was going to happen, it would’ve been best to back out of Sicily if I was all set to go. He had congestive heart failure and was kept for 12 days, but is doing much better now. Arrangements were made for a nurse and a physical therapist to see him at home once he was hospital. Medicine, better diet and exercise have become part of his new daily routine to prevent another scare.

Like any year at this time, winter weather always tends to hinder any significant travel plans. So, I’m just keeping it local in the next few months for that reason as well. If some mild temperatures
hold up during a certain January weekend, I’d like to attend a photo shoot at a dam in Maryland, to capture images of bald eagles. These majestic birds are among many subjects that I’d love to take photos of in nature. Besides, I can always make a stop or two there after we’re well into spring if it gets too wintry. So, that’s one possible trip within my surrounding region, even if I
end up waiting for warmer days.

Wishing everyone a safe and happy new year, as well as with any travels in 2017!

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Adventures, Air Travel, England, International, Italy, Maryland, Nature, Photography, Sicily, Solo Travel, Travel, Weather, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

