Celebrating tourism, keeping spirits up with nature

This year in particular has us all longing for travel once again; normal times would allow trip planning or a vacation to already be
underway. A week of celebrating tourism, with virtual tours of many amazing destinations, has recently come to a close. It inspires me all the more to turn my wanderlust into reality whenever possible.

A horse statue donning stripes of the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse in North Carolina’s Outer Banks. That’s where I’d love to go for vacation again.

One local state park I often visit was closed for some time during March and now, only facilities remain so. Several hiking excursions
have been arranged by a Meetup group to which I belong; the event organizer limited it to five or six attendees. It’s a good idea for
giving others a chance to enjoy nature, while maintaining our social distancing. This is just one example I’ve seen regarding a change in
habits. As I come across news articles about how flying will be different or how the cruise industry will be impacted in the longterm,
it continues to be hard to digest. Even if I only witness small changes in person, there’s always that umbrella of the global scale ripple effect on everything around us. I’ve only traveled by air to Ireland once and back to the states, never took a cruise. Frequent flyer / cruiser or not, we can’t miss the change-ups in how those
transportation modes will continue business safely. Sometimes, the everyday differences in our world feels crazy and I find myself
thinking, I can’t believe this happened.

It’s hard to do at times, but I’m trying to keep spirits up and getting outdoors to enjoy the nice weather helps. Recently, I signed up for two different walking and / or hiking activities held by nature organizations. Both are great ways to promote beautiful areas and spread awareness of their environment. I’ll go into these more with upcoming posts and photos of scenery captured in my own local ecotourism excursions. Several places will be new-to-me in exploring counties in the southeastern part of Pennsylvania. I always enjoy getting out to visit sites I haven’t been to before, another way to
usher in some positive vibes.

A relaxing path to follow at the Hildacy Preserve, one of many areas protected by Natural Lands Trust.

We could all use that to get through anxiety regarding how everything will play out in the coming months and beyond. This year’s marketing for tourism was virtual-tour-oriented, inspiring plans for sometime down the road. I wonder what travel will look like next year as we celebrate the industry of seeing the world.

Keep safe, everyone!

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Eco Travel, Ecotourism, Environment, Hiking, Marketing, Meetup, National Tourism Week, Nature, Social Distancing, Tourism, Tours, Transportation, Travel, Travel News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment