Enjoying a day at Linvilla Orchards

A local favorite, Linvilla Orchards is a place I’ve been going to since I was very young. I can still remember going around inside the Octagonal Barn and picking out caramel apples. Sadly, this iconic structure was lost in a fire, leaving only its stone walls; it was a horrible moment for the community when this happened.

LO Barn History

However, the fire hasn’t stopped Linvilla from thriving overall. The market has a lot of great items for home decorating; my favorites are the spring flowers along with anything for autumn and Halloween. There are also many choices of food items to take home for cooking or to have as snacks; their pizzelles are so delicious! Multiple picnic tables are set up near a food stand overlooking the barn’s stone walls. Customers can relax and enjoy a bite to eat during their visit as well. On a hot day, this chocolate ice cream is the perfect cool-down!

LO Ice Cream Apples

A number of family-friendly activities and events, from hayrides and car shows, also continue to draw in the crowds. Recently, a flea market was held on the grounds with vendors selling items such as DVDs, jewelry, baby items, toys, kitchenware, vintage signs. Others had business services and provided information to passersby.

The main focus of my visit at that time was a car show, featuring classic and antique models. One of my favorite things about spring and summer is when I start seeing classic cars out on the road. So, it’s a must for me to check out when their owners gather somewhere for a car show. Here are a few favorites from 2014 and this year:

Cl-Conv-Red-Mustang

Hood-Ornament-BW

Blue-57-CBA-Inst

Cl-Conv-Corvette-Inst

Streetrod-Flames

Such cool cars and a great reason to get out, enjoy the spring weather while admiring classics and browsing through vendor merchandise. All of this at a place any local would highly recommend, maybe even with his or her own fond memories.

LO-Old-Wheel

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Car Shows, Food, Pennsylvania, Shopping, Travel, Writing Samples and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment