The iconic and stunning Notre Dame Cathedral of Paris

When I was a student at a local community college, I took an art history class covering works from cave paintings to the Renaissance era. In discussing architectural gems, several European cathedrals were among sites of which to know various terms and historical facts. Some of these I hadn’t heard of prior to that class. Yet Notre Dame Cathedral is iconic on the same level as other famed attractions holding a great significant past. It is easily recognizable and known worldwide, an important symbolic structure in Christianity.

Yesterday, seeing a BBC Facebook post about such a massive fire engulf the site was a horrifying shock and I could only hope that the cathedral was able to be saved. I know firefighters were doing everything to prevent a total loss of this beautiful, stunning place beloved by locals, travelers to France and admirers from afar.

I caught a news update about what was saved, what was sadly unable to be recovered and that French officials pledge to rebuild. However long it takes, I don’t know. I’d love to visit France and see Notre Dame while there, either in its process of being rebuilt or afterward. Yet I have no set plans for any major travel at the moment. Paris has always been on my list of must-see destinations because it’s romantic and ideal for art and architecture lovers. As I await the chance to wander this gorgeous European city, I’ll be following any word on Notre Dame’s rebuild.

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, France, Historic, History, International, News, Paris, Travel, Travel News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment