A winding back road, mysterious old structures fit for Halloween

Driving along a stretch of road I haven’t ventured on before, I spotted this derelict stone building with worn columns on the front.
With the appearance of having quite a storied past, it took me by surprise and I exclaimed, “Wow! What is that?” Wonder grows in my mind whenever I see these lonely old structures. As a history buff, I imagine the tales they could share and I always hope we’ll find out through preservation efforts.

Upon first passing it, there was another vehicle parked in the driveway which led right up to front steps. A gate prevented any exploration just beyond the far corner. Thinking about who was in that car now though, I’m curious as to whether or not it was someone who owned and / or maintained the old place. Or, were they simply another person who wanted to step back in time for a few moments with a closer
look?

I had to come back to it for my own quick photo op and continuing on to find a turn-around spot, two more interesting buildings came into view.

The first was a small farmhouse well off the road and covered in overgrowth. I couldn’t help wishing that I could simply wander up its
long driveway to explore all around. Aside from any “No Trespassing” signs, the property looked as though it would’ve been rather difficult to tread through.

The second caught my attention with its tall steeple. I never saw any sign with the name of this church and couldn’t tell if it was currently in use. Yet to glimpse across the landscape at it made me feel as though I were somewhere in the English countryside in the time of Wuthering Heights.

Old-Church-Wuthering-Heights

Back at the column-fronted structure, I kept distant and snapped a few photos at varying zoom levels. If only I could find who to acquire permission from in order to get close-ups of its old architectural details. Of course, even if I did find out, he or she may not allow anyone near and most likely wouldn’t give the okay to venture inside.

After leaving the grounds, I remembered coming across social media posts of a creepy old, abandoned school a while back. However, I
wasn’t sure it was the same place and even thought the structure burned down with nothing left but rubble. Maybe another building on the
property had been completely lost. Searching for it on Google, I found it was indeed the abandoned school that came back to mind. A few results even mentioned stories of alleged hauntings.

At a local Target, shortly before a previous Halloween, one spirited item was a plastic old-style rotary phone. It was straight out of a
foreboding haunted house movie. I picked up the receiver and an evil voice taunted, “I’m coming for you,” with a menacing laugh. Like the scared star of a horror flick, I hung up, picked it up again and the voice added a chilling warning of, “Look behind you.” Villainous laughter followed once again. Imagine this happening in an old abandoned structure you dare to explore!

Have a Safe and Happy Halloween!

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Abandoned, Architecture, Halloween, Haunted, Historic, History, Holidays, Pennsylvania, Photography, Preservation, Road Trip, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment