Dining out for some Texas flavor

As a way of expanding the topics I write about and photograph on what I call my photo journey, I decided that I’m going to cover food as well. One of my shutterbug habits has become snapping photos of delicious menu items brought to the table at various restaurants frequent. Along with tourist sites I visit, why not round out writing about travel with a destination’s dining scene. Not only that, but food photos in general, such as a new dish I try at home. In that sense, photography and blogging has brought out the foodie in me. This idea also combines my decision to attempt becoming a semi-vegetarian, one of my New Years resolutions. So, it’s a good time to add food and dining to my travel experiences.

First up is a local Texas Roadhouse for great all-American eats. This establishment adds to my interest in Lone Star State travels; it’ll be a first for me. On a previous outing to the restaurant, Brooks & Dunn’s hit song, Brooks & Dunn hit song, ‘Boot Scootin’ Boogie’ played, adding to the country atmosphere. Several waitresses broke out in dance between serving patrons.

Upon entering, you’re greeted with sights of a cool jukebox, a Texas-shaped wall plaque detailed in a state license pattern. Further in, framed caricatures of country western singers decorate an overhanging section of the wall. The other side features NASCAR racers in the same artistic style. One interior wall depicts a scene of nearby Brandywine Battlefield, while the opposite wall holds a painting of a Native American Indian. Many other outdoorsy and Texan-themed decor could be seen around the restaurant, creatively representing the state’s culture.

Now for the food. While you decide on what to order, you get warm rolls on which to add a cinnamon butter spread. You can also munch on peanuts offered in a metal tin bucket; a second bucket is provided for tossing the shells. Huge barrels of the popular snack steadily refill the crowds. Appetizers were skipped this time and drinks were served, including my order for coffee. I usually prefer cappuccino when it comes to coffee-related beverages. However, a cup of joe at Texas Roadhouse is amazing; just what I needed to warm up from the chilly evening air.

When it comes to the main course, Texas Roadhouse provides hearty menu items from which to satisfy your appetite. If you don’t eat red meat, or are trying to cut it out, the grilled salmon is a savory dish complimented by two sides. My go-tos include a baked potato and a bowl of fresh broccoli and carrots. That’s where my semi-vegetarian efforts come into play. Of course, grilled salmon is not the only option for vegetarians. Only time will tell if I go further toward total vegan, dining in or out. However, it’s not as difficult as I thought.

To follow up dinner, I ordered a mouthwatering strawberry cheesecake to go. This is what it looked like after I added the toppings at home.

Overall, the service was excellent; you could tell that waiters and waitresses truly enjoy working at Texas Roadhouse. I might only be able to judge that based on two times as a patron there. However, it doesn’t take too many times at a particular dining establishment to get a feel for its service. Since my first time at this restaurant chain, I have only positive views to relay for atmosphere, service and food alike. My second visit was no different.

I’ll definitely go back again; I could go for one of their appealing salads, followed by a sweet potato with a surprise topping. I never encountered this served on a hot food item. You’ll have to go and find out what that is if you haven’t dined at Texas Roadhouse or your taste buds have yet to experience this bite!

What I look forward to is trying different restaurants in parts of the country that I haven’t explored. I’ll be blogging about them as I do for overall adventures of seeing new-to-me places. That also goes for different countries since I’ve not yet wandered outside of the states.

About caroldwyer

A freelance photographer and blogger, I'm also a non-traditional graduate of Cabrini College with a B.A. in communication, minor in English and concentration in film studies. As a student, I was a staff writer, photographer and copy editor for the Loquitur. In my final semester, I assisted in promoting campus literary events for Woodcrest Literary Magazine. I love travel, historic places, nature, wildlife and the arts. I hope to be involved in some way with one of those areas throughout my media career. Currently, I'm pursuing my M.F.A. in creative writing and publishing. Read my film blog at http://cdwyerfilminspired.wordpress.com - and my literary blog at http://cdwyerbookishgrad.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Career, Careers, Dining, Food, Food Editor, Food Writer, Food Writing, Foodie, Photography, Texas, Travel, Vegetarian, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Dining out for some Texas flavor

  1. Pingback: Pursuits of foodie writing | Photo Journey

Leave a comment